SKIN DEEP

Skin deep

Of the many times

I felt

Like I was the outsider

Skin deep, an entourage of my existence.

That I felt like I betrayed my own kind

By wanting to be a woman

Accepted and loved

A woman of substance

Of the many times I felt I was backstabbing my generation

Of the sheer though of my skin

And it color

Of the beauty I tried so hard to explore

To exhibit

Of the many times I cried

In my pillow

For I had no chance to be like the rest

Just like I was, I was doomed for damnation

For my skin was dark.black-woman-crying-feat

They said so.

That I wasn’t beautiful enough

That I came of that dark

That my skin was doomed for damnation.

I yearn for those days

When I will be seen past my darkness

Past my feel

And have me a beautiful thing. For I am a woman

Dark and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

