TO MY MOTHER

Tears well up

At the retrogressive being I had conformed to

The pain that linger

At the look of yesterday

 

Bliss ?

No

Breath!

 

A break of dawn

A chance for another day

Another opportunity to be slapped

At the back!

To be spit on, at the glory of my sight,

 

Bliss?

No

breath!

 

My eyes caught the wrong one

The tender and gentle

Slimy

Soft and brutal

My heart ached for the

African savannah, harsh and clear

 

Bliss?

no

breath!

 

My days, are my past

The unending stretch to my

All obvious tarnished present

Darkness crawl

 

Bliss?

no

breath!

 

My black skin

Voluptuous body, true African woman

Violated, subjected

A prisoner of poverty

A prisoner to entanglement

 

Bliss ?

no

breath!

 

If it could say the words

If it could save me the agony

The painĀ of being an African woman

My pillow would say…?

 

Bliss?

No

Breath!

 

Breath! Breath! yes

it would tell me to

breath!

All can do is keep

Breathing

All can do is keep breathing

All I can do is keep breathing!

 

Leave a Reply

